14th ECE 2020 Secretariat

ILAE/IBE Congress Secretariat

7 Priory Office Park, Stillorgan Road, Blackrock, Co. Dublin, A94 FN26, Ireland

Tel.: +353 1 2056720

Fax: +353 1 2056156


Centre International de Conférences, Genève (CICG)

Rue de Varembé 17  | CH‑1211 Genève 20 | Switzerland




The CICG is ideally located in Geneva, just 10 minutes from the city centre and 15 minutes from the airport. It is easily accessible, being well-served by public transport.

This multi-functional centre is a comfortable size for congress participants to navigate and boasts state-of-the-art equipment.

Certificate of Attendance

Certificates of attendance will be available to delegates on completion of the evaluation form after the congress.


English is the official language of the congress.

Letters of Invitation

A letter of invitation is available once registration for the congress has been completed. A letter of invitation may be downloaded in the Epilepsy Congress User Account, once the required supporting documentation (photo ID), if applicable, and payment have been received.

If a visa application is refused, we will refund the registration fee in full. Please send a copy of the rejection letter to for refunds to be processed.

Liability and Insurance

The congress organisers will not accept liability for personal injury or loss/damage to property/belongings of participants, before, during or following the congress or their stay in Geneva. It is therefore recommended that participants arrange their own personal health, accident and travel insurance.


Complimentary WiFi is available in the congress venue, for the duration of the congress, for registered delegates only.

Please note that information on the Scientific ProgrammeRegistration and Abstracts may be found on separate pages on this website.

Destination Geneva

Geneva is located right in the heart of Europe, easily accessibly by air, road and high-speed trains from European cities. Known as The Global Village, Geneva is the smallest of the big capitals and host to 35 international organisations and 250 NGOs.

In one of Europe’s most beautiful regions, with its lake surrounded by magnificent mountain scenery, Geneva is the gateway to the Alps. The cradle of watchmaking and home to the greatest Swiss chocolate makers, Geneva promises you an original and enriching stay.


The currency used in Switzerland is the Swiss franc (CHF). 1 CHF is divided into 100 cents.


Switzerland uses 230V / 50Hz alternating current.

Sockets are for plugs with three round pins (see for details):

Most non-Swiss visitors should bring adaptors.

Time Zone

Geneva lies within the Central European Time zone (CET), UTC+1. Summer time (UTC+2) runs from end of March to the last week of October.


A ticket for free public transport for 80 minutes is offered for all passengers arriving at the airport.

Geneva has an excellent and efficient public transport system, comprising trains, trams, buses and boats.

Anyone staying in a hotel, a youth hostel or a campsite in Geneva receives a “Geneva Transport Card” free of charge.
This personal and non-transferable card is given out on arrival at the accommodation. It permits unlimited travel on Geneva’s public transport network  for the full duration of the stay.

Visa Regulations

Who does not need a visa?

Switzerland is in the Schengen Zone, so “Schengen” visas also cover entry into Switzerland provided they are part of a valid travel document.

Citizens of all countries of the European Union, Switzerland and many other countries do not need a visa, only a valid passport is required to enter Switzerland. In case of doubt please contact the Swiss Consulate or Embassy well in advance before departure.

Who needs a visa?

Travellers requiring a visa can travel freely throughout the Schengen zone for three months with a Schengen visa issued by any Schengen country. Obtaining a visa entitling you to visit one Schengen country automatically entitles you to travel to and from all the other Schengen countries too.

For further information, please visit the website of the State Secretariat for Migration.