13th AOEC 2021: Welcome Message

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

In view of the uncertain situation with COVID-19 affecting many countries in Asia and Oceania, ILAE and IBE have made the difficult decision to stage the 13th Asian & Oceanian Epilepsy Congress (AOEC) as a virtual congress still on the same dates in 2021, 10-13 June. A virtual congress guarantees the health and safety of all participants which is our highest priority and indeed may be a better opportunity to acquire the latest achievements and share research results with each other in the field of epilepsy through the virtual platform reaching all corners of our vast region.

We sincerely hope to welcome each of you online to the 13th AOEC where you will experience an interactive and highly educational congress like never before. Your active participation will make this virtual AOEC a successful one and most importantly enhance epilepsy care, research and regional co-operation among the countries of Asia and Oceania.

With our best wishes,

Akio IKEDA and Ding DING
Co-chairs, Scientific and Organising Committee

13th AOEC: “Looking towards the future of epilepsy care”


Japan National Tourism Organization


March 2020 Abstracts submission system opened
January 2021 Registration opened
19 March 2021 Extended abstract deadline
16 April 2021 Abstract results known
14 May 2021 Registration special offers end; standard fees apply
10-13 June 2021 The virtual 13th AOEC



Get 35% off your 34th IEC registration by showing your 13th AOEC registration.


A Virtual Congress


10-13 June 2021


Akio Ikeda (Japan) Ding Ding (China)
Martin Brodie (Scotland) Genevieve Rayner (Australia)
John Dunne (Australia) Parthasarthy Satishchandra (India)
Shang-Yeong Kwan (Taiwan) Graeme Shears (Australia)
Byung-In Lee (South Korea) Daichi Sone (Japan)
Makiko Osawa (Japan) Samuel Wiebe (Canada)

Honorary Member

Tatsuya Tanaka (Japan)
Taketoshi MAEHARA (Japan), Co-chair Fitri OCTAVIANA (Indonesia), Co-chair Derrick CHAN (Singapore)
Sarat CHANDRA (India) Chien CHEN (Taiwan) John DUNNE (Australia)
Norimichi HIGURASHI (Japan) Shinichi HIROSE (Japan) Seung Bong HONG (South Korea)
Kousuke KANEMOTO (Japan) Kensuke KAWAI (Japan) Shang-Yeong KWAN (Taiwan)
Byung-In LEE (South Korea) Kheng-Seang LIM (Malaysia) Shih Hui LIM (Singapore)
Man Mohan MEHNDIRATTA (India) Diah Kurnia MIRAWATI (Indonesia) Zarine MOGAL (Pakistan)
Eiji NAKAGAWA (Japan) Jun NATSUME (Japan) Iori OHMORI (Japan)
Yukihiro OHNO (Japan) Hideaki SHIRAISHI (Japan) Ernie SOMERVILLE (Australia)
Chong Tin TAN (Malaysia) Tatsuya TANAKA (Japan) KP VINAYAN (India)
Anannit VISUDTIBHAN (Thailand)
Shinichi Hirose Kensuke Kawai Tatsuya Tanaka
Akio Ikeda Hidemoto Kubota Kiyohito Terada
Yushi Inoue Riki Matsumoto Shozo Tobimatsu
Hiroto Iwasa Makiko Osawa Masako Watanabe
Kyoko Kanazawa Hiroshi Shigeto Hitoshi Yamamoto