Dear Friends and Colleagues,

It is the great pleasure of the Scientific and Organising Committee to welcome you to the 4th African Epilepsy Congress, jointly organised by the International League Against Epilepsy and the International Bureau for Epilepsy. We have no doubt that you will find this congress to be a truly rewarding experience.

The Scientific and Organising Committee has created an excellent programme, building on the success of the first three AECs, in Dakar in 2017, Cape Town in 2014 and Nairobi in 2012, which provides information on new developments in the field of epilepsy, shares knowledge and imparts an insight into the diagnosis and treatment of epilepsy at grassroots level in Africa. The diverse programme reflects the firm commitment to improve the quality of life of people with epilepsy through support of education, research, knowledge dissemination and patient care; with the participation of renowned international and regional faculty, it comprises lectures and interactive sessions on a broad range of topics that are highly relevant to recent scientific, clinical and social developments in epilepsy. Emphasis is placed on the role of the social, cultural and economic aspects in the management and mismanagement of epilepsy in Africa. Make sure also to make time to visit the posters to hear and read about the latest research and data on epilepsy from throughout the region and further afield.

We look forward to welcoming you to the AEC this year.

With warm regards,

Scientific and Organising Committee


Registration for the congress is open and early registration is now available.

Visit the Registration section for full information.


Abstract submission and bursary application are now closed. Applicants will be notified following the review process.


22-24 August 2019


Imperial Resort Beach Hotel

Entebbe, Uganda

Website  |  Tel.: +256 414 303000



Angelina Kakooza-Mwesige (Uganda) Chair, ILAE Africa
Jacob Mugumbate (Zimbabwe) Chair, IBE African Regional Committee


J Helen Cross (United Kingdom)

Amadou Gallo Diop (Senegal)

Sarah Nekesa (Uganda)

Youssouf Noormamode (Mauritius)

Mary Secco (Canada)